The Ultimate Disney Movie Challenge Begins!

Disney Ultimate Movie Bracket Challenge Showdown of DOoooooOoom!!

We’re still working on the title.

So I saw a disney bracket challenge… my amazing friend Haley sent it to me.  I saw it and was like… yes… I can do this. b22f83eb-34b5-488e-a811-5e80af284cf1

As I looked at the lovely 32 movie bracket I started noticing some of my favorite movies were missing…. I could make this better, stronger, I can improve it.  SO I CREATED (with the help of my dad who is actually the biggest Disney Nerd among all of my friends) a 64 movie bracket. NOW, the movie requirements I pressed on this bracket is that they all had to be WALT DISNEY ANIMATION STUDIOS or PIXAR ANIMATION STUDIOS movies.

 

They all have to be feature length animated films. No live action allowed. NO EXCEPTIONS. SORRY GHIBLI FANS, we will be making another bracket for you later. We love those movies too. Also, I have to admit, the loss of Disney MovieToons movies was hard because I love A Goofy movie and pretty much all of the Tinkerbell movies… but we will move on!  Nightmare Before Christmas was also eliminated (although it was on the original 32 I based this whole challenge on originally) because it was made by Skellington Productions.

Anyway, the rules of the game, nay Competition, are:

  1. You have to watch both of the Disney movies that are going up against each other ON THE SAME DAY. 
  2. You have to watch them in the order that they appear in the bracket.   (So although you don’t have to watch the whole bracket in order, you do have to watch the two movies in competition together in the order that they are listed.)
  3. You then write down which one you enjoyed more in the winner section for that bracket competition.  
  4. After round 1 is over (which will take a long time) you will be rewatching the movies for round 2!  And then again in round 3, and 4 and so on. Try not to let this cloud your judgement when picking the winner.
  5. WHEN GOING INTO THE MOVIE WATCHING EXPERIENCE I URGE YOU not to let your preconceived biases influence how you associate your joy of a movie over the other movie.  This isn’t really a rule, more of a request and hopeful wishing.

epcot-252810_960_720

THIS MEANS overall, the winners will often be decided on your mood that day.  Sometimes you’re in the mood for a movie like Toy Story 3, sometimes you want something that won’t rip your heart out and stomp on it over and over again… like maybe Moana?  It’s all subjective!

buzz-1882759_960_720

IMPORTANT INFO: the bracket was created with a random matchup generator after creating the list of 64 movies.  Since it is random, it feels less odd to make sure we watch it in the order that it was spit out. It’s all up to fate.

This is the list of 64 movies in no particular order because it was pretty haphazard:

NOTE: I HAVE ALSO ATTACHED THE BRACKET TO THIS PAGE AT THE BOTTOM!  But there are other bracket generators out there so if you want the movies in a different order, you’re free to create your own.

  1. Lion King
  2. Tarzan
  3. Princess and the Frog
  4. Lilo and Stitch
  5. Tangled
  6. Big Hero 6
  7. Frozen
  8. Moana
  9. Aladdin
  10. Hercules
  11. The Little Mermaid
  12. Pocahontas
  13. Mulan
  14. Zootopia
  15. Beauty and the Beast
  16. Up
  17. Brave
  18. Toy Story
  19. Toy Story 2
  20. Coco
  21. Cars 2
  22. Toy Story 3
  23. The Good Dinosaur
  24. Ratatouille
  25. A Bug’s Life
  26. Finding Nemo
  27. Inside Out
  28. Monsters Inc
  29. Cars
  30. The Incredibles
  31. Wall-E
  32. 101 Dalmatians
  33. Cinderella
  34. Peter Pan
  35. Robin Hood
  36. Jungle Book
  37. Sleeping Beauty
  38. Finding Dory
  39. Monsters University
  40. Snow White
  41. Dumbo
  42. Bambi
  43. Alice in Wonderland
  44. The Aristocats
  45. Lady and the Tramp
  46. The Sword in the Stone
  47. The Rescuers
  48. The Fox and the Hound
  49. The Black Cauldron
  50. The Great Mouse Detective
  51. The Rescuers down under
  52. The Hunchback of Notre Dame
  53. Dinosaur
  54. The Emperor’s New Groove
  55. Atlantis: Lost Empire
  56. Treasure Planet
  57. Brother Bear
  58. Meet the Robinsons
  59. Bolt
  60. Wreck it Ralph
  61. Wreck it Ralph 2
  62. The Incredibles 2
  63. Pinocchio
  64. Oliver & Company

I have already begun my Movie Challenge.  My father has not yet begun and I don’t know which of the first paring he is going with.  I started with Atlantis: Lost Empire vs Peter Pan.  I’ll write another blog about that though.  I think I’ll continue with this as I go along if only so I can look back in the future and see why I picked one movie over another.

 

HAPPY MOVIE WATCHING!

Adventure is out there,

Elf

DISNEY ULTIMATE SHOWDOWN BRACKET CHALLENGE OF DOOOOOM – Sheet1


4 thoughts on “The Ultimate Disney Movie Challenge Begins!

  1. This is the ultimate showdown, of ultimate destiny! Good guys, bad guys, and explosions, as far as the eye can see. But only one can survive, I wonder who it will be? This is the ultimate showdown, of ultimate destiny.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 😀 OH WE DEFINITELY thought of that song when coming up with our original naming system for the game. I can’t wait to find out what my favorite movie is based on these rules man. I think it’s gonna be totally subjective to my mood. PLUS there are a few old ones on here that I’ve never see like Oliver and Company and Black Cauldron. WOO

    Like

Leave a comment